Perseverance – not for the faint hearted

To blog or not to blog, that was never a question. In fact, I shouldn’t have waited for so long. My topic of the day, perseverance.

I finished an art course that I have been proud to be part of. My drawing skills have developed so much, and I have found my art material of choice; willow charcoal. The softness of the charcoal has allowed me to create depth in my drawings, as well enhance my blending techniques. I have been able to create a dark mood throughout all my drawings and I think I have found my style. There is a mood in these drawings, a dark mood, though I’m much happier in real life, there is a presence of darkness in these drawings that I still want to explore.

IMG_5828

I moved on to painting – this is tougher, I completely forgot how tough it was to mix colours and find the right shades. But, again, perseverance is key. If you don’t keep trying, you will never know your own potential, and I want to find my own potential in all parts of art work. We’ve been given a three week self-portrait task in class. Week one has been amazing. I have been able to mix acrylics well. To find the right angle to paint my face, and again, like in the drawing course, the dark mood has continued. It’s niche – and I like it.

IMG_6444

I persevered in another aspect in my life as well. To rid myself of something that was lingering for so long. And it became final, and I’M SO HAPPY. I have a new lease of life and I am going to enjoy every part of my future, however easy, enjoyable or tough. And, I am going to ensure that anything that gives me stress beyond my tolerance, I will not continue. This is perseverance. Thank you world, if the experiences I have had hadn’t happened, I would have never have found out what life is all about.

Persevere, keep going, don’t stop.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan Camac
    May 31, 2016 @ 05:04:22

    This is great! I just wrote a blog about perseverance and the mountains we face in life – from a cyclist and Christian perspective. Feel free to give it a read! https://jonathancamac.wordpress.com/2016/05/31/the-race-ahead/ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment